Monday, November 30, 2009

The Arsenal in Central Park, New York [Photographs]


The Arsenal in Central Park, architecture by Martin E. Thompson, 1847-51 and murals by Allen Saalburg, 1935-6. Photo: 16 Miles [more]

Thanks to Open House New York and the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation, the Arsenal building in Central Park was open to public tours one day last month. Built from 1847 to 1851 to store munitions for the New York State National Guard, the building was seized by controversial parks commissioner Robert Moses in 1934.

The wonderful handrail columns in the shape of guns are joys to behold, but the real treat is inside the lobby, where Allen Saalburg, an artist funded by the Works Progress Administration, painted a series of room-spanning murals that celebrate the history and iconography of the United States of America. A painted soldier even stands guard — bayonet at the ready — next to one door. Remarkable paintings. Even Glenn Beck would enjoy a visit.















9 comments:

Wenhao Guo said...

new england patriots
michael kors outlet store
michael kors handbags,michael kors outlet,michael kors outlet online,michael kors,kors outlet,michael kors outlet online sale,michael kors handbags clearance,michael kors purses,michaelkors.com,michael kors bags,michael kors shoes,michaelkors,cheap michael kors
nike air max 90
michael kors outlet store
michael kors handbags,michael kors outlet,michael kors outlet online,michael kors,kors outlet,michael kors outlet online sale,michael kors handbags clearance,michael kors purses,michaelkors.com,michael kors bags,michael kors shoes,michaelkors,cheap michael kors
ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet online
ray ban
louis vuitton outlet
cheap uggs
louis vuitton outlet online
nobis outlet
ugg boots clearance
san antonio spurs
chanel handbags
fitflop outlet
philadelphia eagles
lacoste polo
ddddd1026

方松腾 said...

小方1215
beats by dr dre
beats by dre
ferragamo shoes
ferragamo shoes
fitflops sale
fitflops sale
fitflops sale clearance
fitflops shoes
fitflops shoes
hollister uk
kate spade handbags
kate spade handbags
kate spade uk
louis vuitton handbags
louis vuitton handbags
lululemon outlet
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
mulberry bags
mulberry handbags
mulberry handbags
mulberry handbags
mulberry sale
oakley sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
omega watches
mulberry outlet
ray ban sunglasses
rolex watches
ray-ban sunglasses
tiffany and co
tiffany jewellery
toms shoes
true religion uk
true religion jeans
true religion jeans
true religion outlet
ugg boots
ugg boots

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys Cheap Jordans Oakley Outlet North Face Outlet Burberry Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses
Chan Luu Sale Toms Outlet Burberry Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Toms Shoes Sale Beats By Dr Dre Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Oakley Sunglasses Valentino Shoes
Oakley Eyeglasses Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet Gucci Belt

kenzo said...

www.obat penyakit sipilis.com
cara obat sipilis
obat sipilis.com
obat sipilis dokter
obat sipilis di apotik terdekat
obat sipilis di malaysia
obat sipilis di bandung
obat kutil kelamin de nature
nama obat kutil kelamin
nama salep obat kutil kelamin
obat oles untuk kutil kelamin
obat kutil di alat kelamin pria
obat untuk kutil pada kelamin
obat tradisional kutil pada kelamin
cari obat eksim kering
cuka obat eksim
www.obat eksim kering.com
obat eksim di kepala
obat eksim di leher
obat eksim dari tumbuhan
obat eksim di wajah

ekonursetio said...

obat eksim (ekzema)
obat eksim kimia farma
obat eksim gatal
obat eksim generik
obat gatal eksim kering
obat gatal eksim paling ampuh
obat gatal eksim pada kulit
fungsi obat sipilis
obat sipilis generik
obat gejala sipilis
obat gatal sipilis
nama obat sipilis generik
obat sipilis dan gonore
obat sipilis dan gejalanya

Cran Kate said...

Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet

艾丰 said...

jianbin0624
mulberry handbags
louis vuitton pas cher
longchamp outlet
coach outlet
michael kors uk
michael kors bags
fitflops sale clearance
hermes birkin
cartier watches
true religion jeans
true religion outlet uk
true religion jeans outlet
coach outlet online
lacoste polo shirts
ghd uk
ralph lauren femme
ralph lauren outlet
ray ban sunglasses sale
christian louboutin shoes
ferragamo outlet
rolex orologi
babyliss pro
michael kors outlet
true religion uk outlet
ralph lauren outlet
toms shoes
lebron shoes
nhl jerseys
fitflops uk
reebok shoes
polo ralph lauren
ray-ban sunglasses
chrome hearts
polo outlet

raybanoutlet001 said...

tiffany and co outlet online
cheap jordan shoes
michael kors factory outlet
nike zoom kobe
tiffany and co uk
true religion jeans
ray ban sunglasses
nmd adidas store
discount sunglasses
adidas nmd runner
michael kors handbags
kobe basketball shoes
ray ban sunglasses outlet
yeezy
tiffany and co outlet
mlb jerseys shop
cheap rolex watches
adidas superstar shoes
jordans for cheap
http://www.raybanglasses.in.net
chrome hearts
true religion jeans
vera bradley backpacks
coach outlet online
lacoste sale
tiffany and co jewellery

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com