Thursday, October 29, 2009

A Rare Richard Pettibone Moment [Updated]


Richard Pettibone, Katherine Dreier's Living Room, 1966. Photos: 16 Miles

Why hasn't Richard Pettibone received more attention? Roberta Smith asked that question in 2005, when he had been working for 40 years, and suggested that "redemption may be nigh" as a result of a retrospective at ICA. Now his career is approaching the half century mark.

Pettibone was doing appropriation — albeit of a more handmade, personal variety — quite a few years before Prince, Levine, and the other appropriationists. Sturtevant is one of his only peers there. Yet, when his name comes up in conversation, he's often mistaken for Raymond Pettibon (who, to be fair, hasn't helped matters).

MoMA owns quite a few of Pettibone's pieces from the 1960s but seems to have lost interest in later years. It's unfortunate because Pettibone has been producing a lot of smart, funny work since then. This weekend it was a strange pleasure to discover two shows showing pieces that I had never before seen.

Leo Castelli had up a show of Polaroids that included Pettibone's snapshots of works by Helmut Newton, Diane Arbus, and Guy Bourdin, as well some self-portraits that featured the artist being reflected back against the lens of his camera. Then, at Francis M. Naumann, the elegant little Pettibone silkscreen was part of the epic "Marcel Duchamp: The Art of Chess" show. It's not complete redemption, but it's nice to see that his art is at least still floating around the city.

Updated: Martin Bromirski sent over a link to notes on what sounds like a wonderful talk by Mr. Pettibone from a few years ago.


Richard Pettibone, Helmut Newton


Richard Pettibone, Diane Arbus, Woman with a Veil on 5th Ave N.Y.C., 1968, 1980

9 comments:

Greg Allen said...

Great minds, &c.

That Pettibone in your Duchamp slideshow this morning made me want to see much more, too.

Martin said...

i like him also. i went to a talk he gave -

http://anaba.blogspot.com/2005/11/richard-pettibone.html

Jordans Nike said...

border village liangzi six herdsmen living in scattered settlements, christian louboutin remise 50% 1.5 km ugg away from the monastery pastoral wholesale jordan shoes herders team, perennial access to electricity. In order to improve production and living conditions of herders, Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags the next sent a Christian Louboutin Bois Dore work team to win 20,000 yuan Yuanjiang funds, christian louboutin plus Discount LV Handbags funds raised in the village, for which six cheap jordans herdsmen solve the electricity problem. uggs outlet It is ugg soldes understood that, since March, the British also ugg pas cher bound liangzi Seoul Township 20 village cadres under the cheap nike jordan shoes name ugg australia of pie divided into five groups, has visited 894 remote herdsmen, Bags Louis Vuitton came out roads, employment, electricity, housing uggs on sale maintenance, helping the poor cheap christian louboutin five Heat and discount christian louboutin difficult problems. Village cadres Cheap LV Handbags and members of the working group to find ways ugg boots to coordinate and solve many of the problems, to Discount Louis Vuitton ensure the discount nike jordans party and christian louboutin shoes the government's care and Christian Louboutin Daffodile warmth to eller the people in the pastoral.

林磊 said...

2016-2-26 leilei
moncler jackets
fitflops uk
michael kors handbags
air max
louis vuitton handbags
jordan 3 white cenment
fitflop shoes
ralph lauren outlet
nike blazer
adidas trainers
longchamp le pliage
cheap ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet store online
michael kors bag
true religion sale
moncler jackets outlet
uggs on sale
coach outlet online
louis vuitton
nike air max 95
louis vuitton outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton handbags
prada handbags
nike air max 90
air max 90
kate spade outlet
louis vuitton purses
mont blanc pens
michael kors outlet
toms outlet
jordan retro 4
nike huarache
canada goose uk
toms shoes
instyler max
ugg boots
gucci outlet online
jordan 3s

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys Cheap Jordans Oakley Outlet North Face Outlet Burberry Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses
Chan Luu Sale Toms Outlet Burberry Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Toms Shoes Sale Beats By Dr Dre Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Oakley Sunglasses Valentino Shoes
Oakley Eyeglasses Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet Gucci Belt

kenzo said...

www.obat penyakit sipilis.com
cara obat sipilis
obat sipilis.com
obat sipilis dokter
obat sipilis di apotik terdekat
obat sipilis di malaysia
obat sipilis di bandung
obat kutil kelamin de nature
nama obat kutil kelamin
nama salep obat kutil kelamin
obat oles untuk kutil kelamin
obat kutil di alat kelamin pria
obat untuk kutil pada kelamin
obat tradisional kutil pada kelamin
cari obat eksim kering
cuka obat eksim
www.obat eksim kering.com
obat eksim di kepala
obat eksim di leher
obat eksim dari tumbuhan
obat eksim di wajah

ekonursetio said...

obat eksim (ekzema)
obat eksim kimia farma
obat eksim gatal
obat eksim generik
obat gatal eksim kering
obat gatal eksim paling ampuh
obat gatal eksim pada kulit
fungsi obat sipilis
obat sipilis generik
obat gejala sipilis
obat gatal sipilis
nama obat sipilis generik
obat sipilis dan gonore
obat sipilis dan gejalanya

Cran Kate said...

Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com