Wednesday, October 28, 2009

"Marcel Duchamp: The Art of Chess" at Francis M. Naumann Fine Art [Photographs] [Updated]


Salvador Dali, chess set designed in honor of Marcel Duchamp, 1971. Photos: 16 Miles [more]

Holland Cotter was on top of Francis M. Naumann's current show about Duchamp, chess, and contemporary art this weekend, but it's worth another note. This is one of the most fun shows in New York right now. It takes a ton of Duchamp ephemera (chess notations, a few letters, a few editions and pieces of art), adds a ton of chess sets (by Dali, Man Ray, Ono, and others), and includes other chess-related pieces of contemporary art. Here are a few of the chess sets. The show closes after Friday.

The pieces of the Dali chess set above were molded from his own fingers. (The rook is the pepper shaker from the St. Regis Hotel.) In a 1971 letter to Sidney Wallach of the American Chess Association, Dali explained the design he had completed in honor of his late friend Duchamp: "In chess, as in other expressions of the human alchemy, there is always the creator, above all, the Artist as Creator. It is this that I wanted to be represented: the hand of the Artist, the Eternal Creator. How better to express this vision than by sculpting my own hand, my own fingers?"

One wonders if Maurizio Cattelan knew about the piece. The edition he created donors to the X-Initiative (below) — which plays so nicely with some of Bruce Nauman's sculptures — is a perfect complement to Dali's set.

Updated: Writer Brian Sholis has written in to mention that Maurizio Cattelan has developed a choice chess set himself. The opposing kings take the form of Hitler and Martin Luther King, Jr. View an image and learn more.


Maurizio Cattelan's hand, edition of 80, available to X-Initiative donors, on display at X.


Yoko Ono, Play It By Trust, 2002


Charles Juhasz-Alvarado, Readymade Chess Set, 1995


Arman


Arman


Man Ray, Bronze Chess Set, 1966


Man Ray, Silver Chess Set, 1926/2008

"Marcel Duchamp: The Art of Chess"
Through October 31, 2009
Francis M. Naumann Fine Art
24 West 57th Street, Suite 305
New York, New York
[more photographs]

6 comments:

Brian Sholis said...

From the details of your post I'm unsure whether you know about Cattelan's chess set. Here are some details:

http://www.artinfo.com/news/photos/1180/12720/

And more: http://www.google.com/search?q=chess+set+maurizio+cattelan+good+versus+evil&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Anonymous said...

[url=http://tinyurl.com/y9qxher][img]http://i069.radikal.ru/1001/35/75e72b218708.jpg[/img][/url]



Related keywords:
biolab Tramadol
buy cheap Tramadol online no prescription
buy drug Tramadol
cheap Tramadol 300ct 50mg
online Tramadol
Tramadol in drug screens
Tramadol 537
buy deine nachricht online site Tramadol
[url=http://www.zazzle.com/AlexanderBlack]buy now Tramadol [/url]
[url=http://seobraincenter.ru]http://seobraincenter.ru[/url]
Tramadol hydrochloride dosing
buy Tramadol without a prescription
Tramadol in drug screens
c o d shipping for Tramadol
buy Tramadol online cod
Tramadol mailorder
Tramadol money order

林磊 said...

2016-2-26 leilei
kate spade handbags
jordan retro 8
true religion outlet
michael kors handbags
juicy couture
coach factory outlet online
oakley outlet
ugg boots for sale
christian louboutin outlet
toms outlet store
nike blazers uk
michael kors handbags
michael kors handbags
adidas superstar
jordan retro 13
michael kors outlet
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet
true religion
longchamp pas cher
michael kors outlet
mcm handbags
air max
air jordan femme
abercrombie and fitch
burberry outlet
nike cortez shoes
nike free runs
oakey sunglasses wholesale
kate spade outlet
uggs sale
gucci outlet online
nike roshe run
toms outlet
hollister co
ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet online
michael kors outlet
christian louboutin shoes
cheap toms

dong dong23 said...

coach outlet
oakley sunglasses
kobe 9 shoes
ray ban sunglasses
michael kors outlet
nike outlet
michael kors outlet clearance
ralph lauren
lebron james shoes 2015
cheap oakley sunglasses
nfl jerseys wholesale
michael kors canada
coach factory outlet
ralph lauren outlet
coach outlet
kate spade
ralph lauren
nike outlet store
toms outlet
tods outlet
adidas originals
kevin durant shoes
adidas outlet
jordan 6
jordan 8s
louis vuitton outlet
ralph lauren uk
christian louboutin shoes
coach factory outlet
fitflop sandals
ralph lauren sale
gucci outlet
timberland outlet
adidas shoes
juicy couture
louis vuitton handbags
replica watches
christian louboutin outlet
louis vuitton outlet
toms shoes
20168.8wengdongdong

raybanoutlet001 said...

nike roshe run
nike huarache
nike kobe sneakers
yeezy boost
basketball shoes
true religion outlet
nike roshe run one
adidas nmd
air jordan retro
christian louboutin outlet
true religion jeans wholesale
lacoste polo shirts
ugg outlet
tiffany jewelry
chrome hearts
adidas tubular
kobe basketball shoes
adidas stan smith uk
adidas neo
huarache shoes
cheap oakley sunglasses
tiffany and co outlet
tiffany online
air jordan retro
cheap tiffanys
tiffany and co
michael kors outlet
tiffany jewelry
ralph lauren online,cheap ralph lauren

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com