Sunday, November 1, 2009

Food's Fiscal Facts, Marinetti, and the "Art of Eating"


Food's Fiscal Facts from Avalanche 4, 1972. Shown at "From the Archives: 40 Years / 40 Projects," at White Columns, New York. Photo: 16 Miles [more]

Gordon Matta-Clark's Food restaurant ran the advertisement above at the end of 1972, the first year of the restaurant's operation. Favorite parts: 1,111 lbs of baked duck, 5,568 loaves of bread, 3,082 free dinners given, 1,083 glasses broken. They were paying $6,000 for a year's worth of rent at the corner of Prince and Wooster in SoHo. (Lucky Jeans has the space today.)

On a related noted, I wrote a piece about art, food, and a few upcoming events in New York that combine the two. Here's the opening, about Marinetti's Futurist war on pasta:
“Pasta, however grateful to the palate, is an obsolete food,” Futurist leader Filippo Marinetti declared in 1931. “Its nutritive qualities are deceptive; it induces skepticism, sloth, and pessimism.” Despite generating considerable debate at the time, Marinetti, of course, lost his war against the Italian staple he claimed to despite photographic evidence that suggested his real feelings about the food were a bit more conflicted.
"The Art of Eating" at Artinfo

4 comments:

Anonymous said...

From selecting the correct wedding gown to choosing the right place, it can truly require a good deal from you when arranging a wedding. It's crucial that you attempt whatever you decide to can to ease some of the anxiety connected with a wedding ceremony, and that's where recommendations in this post comes in convenient.[url=http://pinterest.com/mulberryfashion/mulberry-purse/]purse fashion[/url]

On the day of your wedding, do not blow issues out of amount by thinking too much in the upcoming. Make use of the genuine time and revel in every single 2nd of this, mainly because it will be an event which you remember for the rest of your daily life.

[url=http://pinterest.com/mulberryfashion/mulberry-purse/]purse fashion[/url] Ensure that your hubby and his groomsmen have every thing organized upfront inside the times major as much as the wedding. Check they have each of the supplies for his or her tuxedos and therefore almost everything suits too. This can lessen your anxiousness and ensure that everything should go as outlined by plan.

[url=http://pinterest.com/mulberryfashion/mulberry-purse/]purse fashion[/url] If you have to buy linens for your personal wedding party, be sure that they fit your table in your own home. Another option is to question loved ones to create their own from home to help you just send them back, right after being professionally cleansed, when you're completed. When you have to mix and match you are able to modify your shade structure to really make it appear intentional!

Take into account visiting a neighborhood playground or art gallery to have your wedding day photos taken. It's remarkable to get a beautiful backdrop inside your photos, but often your real wedding party place may not offer this type of look at. Get hold of your city's authorities office to ascertain if you'll want a picture taking certificate for that spot you end up picking.

[url=http://pinterest.com/mulberryfashion/mulberry-purse/]mulberry[/url] Make great use of all of the helpful tips accessible to you on powerful wedding event planning, and learn from the experiences of others who came before you decide to. Your wedding day is a day time to become celebrated and valued and satisfied with enthusiasm. We hope you with a stunning and happy day time! [url=http://pinterest.com/mulberryfashion/mulberry-purse/]mulberry[/url]

Jordans Nike said...

border village liangzi six herdsmen living in scattered settlements, christian louboutin remise 50% 1.5 km ugg away from the monastery pastoral wholesale jordan shoes herders team, perennial access to electricity. In order to improve production and living conditions of herders, Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags the next sent a Christian Louboutin Bois Dore work team to win 20,000 yuan Yuanjiang funds, christian louboutin plus Discount LV Handbags funds raised in the village, for which six cheap jordans herdsmen solve the electricity problem. uggs outlet It is ugg soldes understood that, since March, the British also ugg pas cher bound liangzi Seoul Township 20 village cadres under the cheap nike jordan shoes name ugg australia of pie divided into five groups, has visited 894 remote herdsmen, Bags Louis Vuitton came out roads, employment, electricity, housing uggs on sale maintenance, helping the poor cheap christian louboutin five Heat and discount christian louboutin difficult problems. Village cadres Cheap LV Handbags and members of the working group to find ways ugg boots to coordinate and solve many of the problems, to Discount Louis Vuitton ensure the discount nike jordans party and christian louboutin shoes the government's care and Christian Louboutin Daffodile warmth to eller the people in the pastoral.

John said...

abercrombie and fitch
christian louboutin uk
buy red bottoms
coach outlet
toms outlet
jordan shoes
ray bans
tiffany and co outlet
cheap nfl jerseys
red bottoms outlet online
longchamp bag
nike blazer
christian louboutin shoes
ed hardy uk
michael kors outlet
converse all star
coach outlet
cheap oakleys outlet
rolex watches uk
tiffany uk
michael kors outlet
fitflops sale
running shoes
cheap nike shoes
fitflops shoes
mlb jerseys wholesale
under armour shoes
birkenstock shoes
polo ralph lauren outlet
louboutin shoes
the north face outlet
adidas nmd
kate spade outlet
michael kors outlet stores
2016521yuanyuan

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com