Sunday, December 27, 2009

The Minneapolis Sculpture Garden [Photographs]


Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen, Spoonbridge and Cherry, 1985-1988. Photos: 16 Miles [more]

Minneapolis's venerable Walker Art Center prohibits photography in its galleries, so images of the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden, a Walker off-shoot, will have to suffice as an alternative. It opened back in 1988 and features a remarkably well curated selection of work, including a Dan Graham pavilion, a Richard Serra sculpture, Jenny Holzer benches, and a large, glass greenhouse that includes a Mario Merz neon on its roof (reading città irreale or "unreal city," for non-Italian proficient people like me) and a soaring Frank Gehry sculpture of a fish, commissioned by the Walker back in 1986, when the architect's success (particularly in the museum world) was far from assured. The pièce de résistance is, of course, the Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen spoon and cherry, which, after a recent cleaning and repainting, looks as fresh as the day it arrived.


Left: Ellsworth Kelly, Double Curve, 1988; right: Richard Serra, Five Plates, Two Poles, 1971



Frank Gehry, Standing Glass Fish, 1986


Dan Graham, Two-way Mirror Punched Steel Hedge Labyrinth, 1994-1996


Jackie Ferrara, Belvedere, 1988

11 comments:

Roshi Doshi said...

I never realized that the Fish was by FG!

Kelly@TearingUpHouses said...

I've always wanted to visit these...

Kelly

Wenhao Guo said...

designer handbags
north face jackets,north face,the north face,northface,north face outlet,north face jackets clearance,the north face
canada goose jackets
san francisco 49ers
nba jerseys wholesale
nike air huarache,nike huarache,nike huarache sneakers,nike huarache shoes
los angeles clippers
tory burch handbags
louis vuitton handbags outlet store
mizuno shoes
golden state warriors
hermes bags
nike roshe run
indianapolis colts
monster beats
cheap mlb jerseys
karen millen dresses
oakley sunglasses
coach outlet store
ddddd1026

Xiaoxiao Zhao said...

nike air
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
ugg boots online
louis vuitton canada
abercrombie outlet
burberry outlet
adidas super star
pirate system
wisconsincrime alert
hermes outlet
christian louboutin shop
canada goose outlet
hollister outlet
louis vuitton bags
coach outlet
oakley sunglasses
louis vuitton outlet sale
nike sko norway
asics gel
popular sunglasses
air jordan nike
louis vuitton factory
michael kors outlet online
air jordan retro shoes
ugg boots
abercrombie and fitch outlet
jimmy choo
ralph lauren polo
nike free run sko2
louis vuitton outlet online
hollister outlet
heveleger dress

mao qiuyun said...

the north face outlet store
the north face jackets
links of london
futbol baratas
mulberry outlet
louis vuitton
mulberry outlet
swarovski crystal
mcm outlet
oakley sunglasses
tiffany and co jewelry
chanel handbags
michael kors factory outlet
oakley sunglasses
coach outlet online
nike huarache
louis vuitton outlet
gucci
north face jackets
michael kors outlet
pandora jewelry
ugg outlet
beats by dr dre
lululemon outlet
oakley sunglasses
canada goose jackets
michael kors outlet online
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet store
lululemon outlet
coach outlet
ralph lauren outlet
longchamp handbags
replica watches
michael kors wallet
adidas outlet store
prada outlet
calvin klein underwear
ugg boots
1031maoqiuyun

方松腾 said...

小方1215
beats by dr dre
beats by dre
ferragamo shoes
ferragamo shoes
fitflops sale
fitflops sale
fitflops sale clearance
fitflops shoes
fitflops shoes
hollister uk
kate spade handbags
kate spade handbags
kate spade uk
louis vuitton handbags
louis vuitton handbags
lululemon outlet
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
michael kors outlet
mulberry bags
mulberry handbags
mulberry handbags
mulberry handbags
mulberry sale
oakley sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
omega watches
mulberry outlet
ray ban sunglasses
rolex watches
ray-ban sunglasses
tiffany and co
tiffany jewellery
toms shoes
true religion uk
true religion jeans
true religion jeans
true religion outlet
ugg boots
ugg boots

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys Cheap Jordans Oakley Outlet North Face Outlet Burberry Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses
Chan Luu Sale Toms Outlet Burberry Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Toms Shoes Sale Beats By Dr Dre Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Oakley Sunglasses Valentino Shoes
Oakley Eyeglasses Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet Gucci Belt

kenzo said...

www.obat penyakit sipilis.com
cara obat sipilis
obat sipilis.com
obat sipilis dokter
obat sipilis di apotik terdekat
obat sipilis di malaysia
obat sipilis di bandung
obat kutil kelamin de nature
nama obat kutil kelamin
nama salep obat kutil kelamin
obat oles untuk kutil kelamin
obat kutil di alat kelamin pria
obat untuk kutil pada kelamin
obat tradisional kutil pada kelamin
cari obat eksim kering
cuka obat eksim
www.obat eksim kering.com
obat eksim di kepala
obat eksim di leher
obat eksim dari tumbuhan
obat eksim di wajah

ekonursetio said...

obat eksim (ekzema)
obat eksim kimia farma
obat eksim gatal
obat eksim generik
obat gatal eksim kering
obat gatal eksim paling ampuh
obat gatal eksim pada kulit
fungsi obat sipilis
obat sipilis generik
obat gejala sipilis
obat gatal sipilis
nama obat sipilis generik
obat sipilis dan gonore
obat sipilis dan gejalanya

Cran Kate said...

Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com