Saturday, December 12, 2009

Kaz Oshiro, "Setting Sun," and Robert Ryman at Yvon Lambert [Review]


Kaz Oshiro, Orange Speaker Cabinets and Gray Scale Boxes (18 Parts) [installation view], 2009. Photos: 16 Miles [more]

Kaz Oshiro makes paintings and sculptures simultaneously, stretching canvases around simple plywood constructions and then painting them to resemble items like refrigerators, microwaves, and fluorescent Jules Olitski paintings that have slipped their moorings and crumpled onto the ground. His immaculate reproduction of a classic Fender amplifier was the highlight of his last show at Yvon Lambert, though he’s switched here to Orange brand speakers, which just happen to approximate the hue of orange that Donald Judd favored. The 12 cabinets he’s spread across the floor look real, though, like two nearby trompe l’oeil garbage Dumpsters with delicately painted patches of rust, they broadcast a feeling of uncanny weightlessness. Walking around them, one discovers bare backs and hollow centers, the secrets of the phenomenological tricks that Oshiro fashions out of minimalism’s legacy. In the process of crafting these pleasures, Oshiro also provides a smart prelude to a hidden treasure: three early Robert Ryman paintings hanging silently in the gallery’s front room, slowly taking on the soft, natural patina of time.


Kaz Oshiro, Disposal Bin (White with Orange Swoosh), 2009


Kaz Oshiro, "Setting Sun" [installation view], at Yvon Lambert


Kaz Oshiro, Orange Speaker Cabinets and Gray Scale Boxes (18 Parts) [installation view], 2009.

Kaz Oshiro, "Setting Sun," and Robert Ryman
Yvon Lambert
550 West 21st Street
New York, New York
Through December 23, 2009
[more photographs]

9 comments:

Anonymous said...

Les amateurs d'art (dont je suis) sont maintenant blasés et ne manifestent plus d'intérêt pour ce genre d' "insallation"

Jordans Nike said...

border village liangzi six herdsmen living in scattered settlements, christian louboutin remise 50% 1.5 km ugg away from the monastery pastoral wholesale jordan shoes herders team, perennial access to electricity. In order to improve production and living conditions of herders, Cheap Louis Vuitton Handbags the next sent a Christian Louboutin Bois Dore work team to win 20,000 yuan Yuanjiang funds, christian louboutin plus Discount LV Handbags funds raised in the village, for which six cheap jordans herdsmen solve the electricity problem. uggs outlet It is ugg soldes understood that, since March, the British also ugg pas cher bound liangzi Seoul Township 20 village cadres under the cheap nike jordan shoes name ugg australia of pie divided into five groups, has visited 894 remote herdsmen, Bags Louis Vuitton came out roads, employment, electricity, housing uggs on sale maintenance, helping the poor cheap christian louboutin five Heat and discount christian louboutin difficult problems. Village cadres Cheap LV Handbags and members of the working group to find ways ugg boots to coordinate and solve many of the problems, to Discount Louis Vuitton ensure the discount nike jordans party and christian louboutin shoes the government's care and Christian Louboutin Daffodile warmth to eller the people in the pastoral.

Xiaozhengm 520 said...

2015-12-9 xiaozhengm
tommy hilfiger outlet
ralph lauren pas cher
true religion jeans
nike air jordan
cheap uggs boots
michael kors
toms outlet
air jordan pas cher
louis vuitton outlet
louis vuitton outlet
coach outlet
louis vuitton handbags
toms outlet
pandora charms
michael kors handbags
adidas outlet store
pandora jewelry
ray ban sunglasses
nike shoes
ugg outlet
sac longchamp
air max 95
adidas superstars
michael kors outlet
burberry outlet
louis vuitton pas cher
jordan 6
nike outlet
coach outlet
soccer jerseys
canada gooses outlet
michael kors
michael kors
nike huarache trainers
abercrombie
tiffany and co
nike trainers
michael kors outlet
nike air max
nike tn

林磊 said...

2016-2-26 leilei
michael kors outlet
canada goose jackets
burberry outlet online
ray ban sunglasses
nike air max
cheap jordan shoes
michael kors handbags
louboutin shoes
cheap soccer jerseys
cheap basketball shoes
canada goose jackets
louis vuitton handbags
gucci handbags
micahel kors
air jordan shoes
coach factory outlet
christian louboutin uk
louis vuitton handbags
toms shoes
coach factory outlet online
polo ralph lauren
cheap ugg boots
nike uk
coach factory online
rolex replica watches
ralph lauren
cheap oakley sunglasses
christian louboutin
michael kors
true religion jeans
nike tn pas cher
michael kors handbags
nike sb dunks
timberland uk
michael kors handbag
coach outlet online
hermes belt
ralph lauren
michael kors bags
nike store uk

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys Cheap Jordans Oakley Outlet North Face Outlet Burberry Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses
Chan Luu Sale Toms Outlet Burberry Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Toms Shoes Sale Beats By Dr Dre Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Oakley Sunglasses Valentino Shoes
Oakley Eyeglasses Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet Gucci Belt

ekonursetio said...

obat eksim (ekzema)
obat eksim kimia farma
obat eksim gatal
obat eksim generik
obat gatal eksim kering
obat gatal eksim paling ampuh
obat gatal eksim pada kulit
fungsi obat sipilis
obat sipilis generik
obat gejala sipilis
obat gatal sipilis
nama obat sipilis generik
obat sipilis dan gonore
obat sipilis dan gejalanya

John said...

oakey sunglasses wholesale
ralph lauren outlet
louis vuitton outlet online
ralph lauren outlet
michael kors outlet online
nike roshe run women
ray ban sunglasses
designer handbags
puma shoes
true religion sale
michael kors outlet
true religion jeans
kate spade outlet
kate spade bags
michael kors handbags
chi flat iron
reebok shoes
new balance outlet
fitflops sale clearance
levis 501
burberry outlet
louis vuitton uk
hollister sale
cartier watches
pandora jewelry
converse shoes
ray ban outlet store online
ray bans
coach outlet store online
www.coachfactory.com
gucci outlet
ed hardy outlet
true religion outlet store
ugg outlet
nike air max uk
toms shoes
nike air max
2016521yuanyuan

Cran Kate said...

Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com