Sunday, December 13, 2009

Negative Art Reviews in the New York Times



The White Columns Annual, which is up through January 9, 2010 and curated by Miriam Katzeff and James Hoff of the art publisher Primary Information, is full of pleasures: a nice Reena Spaulings light box, a video of an uproarious performance by Georgia Sagri, a very sleek John McCracken sculpture, etc.

The greatest pleasure, though, may be a special pamphlet that Katzeff and Hoff have prepared, containing "all the reviews that we perceive to be negative" (to use their words) from the "Art in Review" feature in the New York Times, which runs almost every week on Fridays. Primary Information's zine, delightfully priced at $3, is entitled "It makes me wonder what is next for her and for the economy."

Katzeff and Hoff write, "[W]e noticed the majority of the reviews were either positive or merely descriptive." The "Art in Review" weekly column (which Sharon Butler regularly elucidates) features around five (plus or minus a few) reviews each edition, meaning somewhere in the neighborhood of 250 are published each year. Out of that group, Katzeff and Hoff were able to find 38 that they "perceive to be negative."

The White Columns Annual, which is up through January 9, 2010 and curated by Miriam Katzeff and James Hoff of the art publisher Primary Information, is full of pleasures: a nice Reena Spaulings light box, a video of an uproarious performance by Georgia Sagri, a very sleek John McCracken sculpture, etc.

The greatest pleasure, though, may be a special pamphlet that Katzeff and Hoff have prepared, containing "all the reviews that we perceive to be negative" (to use their words) from the "Art in Review" feature in the New York Times, which runs almost every week on Fridays. Primary Information's zine, delightfully priced at $3, is entitled "It makes me wonder what is next for her and for the economy."

Katzeff and Hoff write, "[W]e noticed the majority of the reviews were either positive or merely descriptive." The "Art in Review" weekly column (which Sharon Butler regularly elucidates) features around five (plus or minus a few) reviews each edition, meaning somewhere in the neighborhood of 250 are published each year. Out of that group, Katzeff and Hoff were able to find 38 that they "perceive to be negative."

As the above graph shows, artists should cross their fingers that Holland Cotter comes to review their show (although, in fairness, he participates with a bit less regularity than the other three and tends to tackle the museum shows of already lauded artists, meaning his number may be artificially depressed). Only Peter Doig (at Gavin Brown / Michael Werner) and Matt Johnson (at Taxter & Spengemann) reviewed negative reviews from Cotter this year, according to Katzeff and Hoff. On the other hand, Karen Rosenberg edges out Ken Johnson and Roberta Smith for crafting the most negative reviews in this year's columns.

All of this leads, of course, to an inevitable, tantalizing question: How did the Times review the Annual? Karen Rosenberg provided a brief mention of it in her year-end gallery guide and writes of Primary Information's efforts: "The art they’ve chosen is aggressive, confrontational and very downtown." I'm going to count that as a positive review.


All of this leads, of course, to an inevitable, tantalizing question: How did the Times review the Annual? Karen Rosenberg provided a brief mention of it in her year-end gallery guide and writes of Primary Information's efforts: "The art they’ve chosen is aggressive, confrontational and very downtown." I'm going to count that as a positive review.

8 comments:

Anonymous said...

Dear Author www.16miles.com !
The exact answer

Anonymous said...

[url=http://gouting.ru/in.cgi?16][img]http://i068.radikal.ru/0911/20/b4c4f08b06c6.jpg[/img][/url]

Xiaozhengm 520 said...

2015-12-9 xiaozhengm
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton bags
mizuno running shoes
nike air max uk
prada outlet
north face jackets
louis vuitton
nike free runs
coach factory outlet
hollister uk
jordan pas cher
timberland boots
canada goose outlet
true religion outlet
coach outlet
christian louboutin outlet
true religion outlet
north face outlet
gucci outlet
michael kors handbags
michael kors outlet uk
michael kors outlet
louis vuitton outlet
fitflops
ugg outlet
burberry outlet
nike air max
coach outlet
coach outlet
jordan retro 3
michael kors outlet online
juicy couture
coach outlet
coach factory outlet
nike blazer
louis vuitton handbags
toms wedges
ghd straighteners
michael kors outlet
fake oakley sunglasses

林磊 said...

2016-2-26 leilei
moncler jackets
fitflops uk
michael kors handbags
air max
louis vuitton handbags
jordan 3 white cenment
fitflop shoes
ralph lauren outlet
nike blazer
adidas trainers
longchamp le pliage
cheap ray ban sunglasses
coach outlet store online
michael kors bag
true religion sale
moncler jackets outlet
uggs on sale
coach outlet online
louis vuitton
nike air max 95
louis vuitton outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
ray ban sunglasses
louis vuitton handbags
prada handbags
nike air max 90
air max 90
kate spade outlet
louis vuitton purses
mont blanc pens
michael kors outlet
toms outlet
jordan retro 4
nike huarache
canada goose uk
toms shoes
instyler max
ugg boots
gucci outlet online
jordan 3s

Cran Jane said...

Michael Kors Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Gucci Factory Outlet Gucci Outlet Gucci Handbags Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses North Face Jackets Prada Outlet Burberry Outlet Hollister Clothing Ferragamo Shoes Tiffany Jewelry Tiffany Outlet NFL Jerseys Cheap Jordans Oakley Outlet North Face Outlet Burberry Outlet Ray Ban Sunglasses
Chan Luu Sale Toms Outlet Burberry Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Toms Shoes Sale Beats By Dr Dre Coach Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes Oakley Sunglasses Valentino Shoes
Oakley Eyeglasses Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet Gucci Belt

kenzo said...

www.obat penyakit sipilis.com
cara obat sipilis
obat sipilis.com
obat sipilis dokter
obat sipilis di apotik terdekat
obat sipilis di malaysia
obat sipilis di bandung
obat kutil kelamin de nature
nama obat kutil kelamin
nama salep obat kutil kelamin
obat oles untuk kutil kelamin
obat kutil di alat kelamin pria
obat untuk kutil pada kelamin
obat tradisional kutil pada kelamin
cari obat eksim kering
cuka obat eksim
www.obat eksim kering.com
obat eksim di kepala
obat eksim di leher
obat eksim dari tumbuhan
obat eksim di wajah

Cran Kate said...

Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet
Ugg Boots Sale UGGS For Women Skechers Go Walk Adidas Yeezy Boost Adidas Yeezy Adidas NMD Coach Outlet North Face Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet Puma Outlet Polo Outlet
Under Armour Outlet Under Armour Hoodies Herve Leger MCM Belt Nike Air Max Louboutin Heels Jordan Retro 11 Converse Outlet Nike Roshe Run UGGS Outlet North Face Outlet

eric yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com